14 August, 08:07 PM

Poland considers suspending its issuance of visas to Russian citizens

The Polish government is working on a mechanism that would make Russian citizens ineligible for Poland-issued travel visas, Polish Deputy Foreign Minister Piotr Wawrzyk told Polskie Radio on Aug. 14.

According to Wawrzyk, Poland supports expanding EU sanctions on Russia to include travel visas restrictions for Russian citizens. However, the official noted that some EU members don’t support this initiative.

“Major EU members, including Germany, France, and the Netherlands, remain opposed,” said Wawrzyk.

“Given their opposition..., Poland is working on a unilateral solution.”

Wawrzyk added that Poland – together with Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, the Czech Republic, and Slovakia, is still working to persuade the EU to introduce such restrictions.

“We can expect a decision on this in the coming weeks,” Wawrzyk concluded.

The official noted that Poland hasn’t been issuing tourist visas to Russians for several months now. Russian citizens are eligible only for work and transit visas, at Polish embassies and consulates.

So far, only Finland, Estonia, and Lithuania have officially backed Ukraine’s proposal for EU countries to bar Russian citizens from entry, taking steps to place restrictions on Russians travelling to these countries.

Другие новости

Все новости