Ukraine imposes sanctions against Moscow Exchange and other 333 individuals

20 February, 11:15 AM
President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelenskyy (Photo:Пресслужба Офісу президента України)

President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelenskyy (Photo:Пресслужба Офісу президента України)

President Volodymyr Zelenskyy has enacted the National Security and Defense Council's decision to impose sanctions on the Moscow stock exchange and 333 residents of Russia, Belarus, Austria, and France, including Russian bankers, the official presidential website reported on Feb. 19.

Among others, sanctions were imposed on former Russian government officials Mikhail Zadornov and Oleg Sysuev, as well as former Russian Deputy Prime Minister and former Minister of Sports Vitaly Mutko.

Restrictions were also imposed on a number of Russian bankers connected to banks such as Yoshkar-Ola, Elita, Zarechye, Yenisei United Bank, Black Sea Bank for Development and Reconstruction, Sibsotsbank, Yekaterinburg Municipal Bank, and other financial institutions.

Video of day

On Feb. 12, Zelenskyy also imposed sanctions on 200 people, including 199 Russians associated with the Russian nuclear industry and a Ukrainian collaborator, Andriy Chernichuk, who was appointed by the Russian company Rosatom as the "general director" of the occupied Zaporizhzhya NPP.

A Russian diplomat, Yuri Ushakov — known to be one of Russian dictator Vladimir Putin's closest aides on foreign economic policy — was also included in the sanctions list.

We’re bringing the voice of Ukraine to the world. Support us with a one-time donation, or become a Patron!

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Google News

Ukraine Today
Fresh daily newsletter covering the top headlines and developments in Ukraine
Daily at 9am EST
Show more news