EU passes decision to remove several Russian banks from SWIFT

2 March 2022, 06:01 PM

The European Union has adopted a decision to take several Russian banks out of the SWIFT global financial messaging system over Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, according to an EU Council decision published on March 2.

The list of affected Russian banks includes Bank Otkritie, Novikombank, Promsvyazbank, Bank Rossiya, Sovcombank, Vnesheconombank (VEB), and VTB Bank.

The decision shall enter into force on the date of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Google News

Ukraine Today
Fresh daily newsletter covering the top headlines and developments in Ukraine
Daily at 9am EST
Show more news