Lithuania adopts strict sanctions against Russians and Belarussians

21 April, 02:19 PM
Flag of Lithuania (Photo:jorono / pixabay)

Flag of Lithuania (Photo:jorono / pixabay)

The Lithuanian parliament has finally adopted national sanctions against Russians and Belarusians over the war in Ukraine, overcoming President Gitanas Nauseda's veto, LRT Lithuanian news reported on April 20.

The national sanctions law was adopted without the president’s proposed amendments with 99 in favour, seven against, and two abstentions.

Russians and Belarusians will now be restricted from obtaining Lithuanian visas and e-resident status for one year starting from May 2. They will also be banned from bringing Ukrainian hryvnias into Lithuania.

Video of day

Russians will face additional difficulties in entering Lithuania and purchasing real estate, and their applications for residence permits will be temporarily suspended.

The law suspends the visa application process for Russians and Belarusians, except for cases where Lithuania’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs intervenes, allowing for cases of legitimate refugees from the countries to enter.

Applications for temporary residence permits from Russians won't be accepted until at least May 2024. Exceptions will be made for those who have a Lithuanian government-authorised intermediary or a Schengen visa, national visa, or residence permit in a EU country.

We’re bringing the voice of Ukraine to the world. Support us with a one-time donation, or become a Patron!

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Google News

Ukraine Today
Fresh daily newsletter covering the top headlines and developments in Ukraine
Daily at 9am EST
Show more news