14 September, 10:52 AM

Nine EU countries no longer accept Russian visa applications

Nine EU member states have stopped accepting Russian tourist visa applications, Russia’s Tourist Operator Association said in a message on its website on Sept. 13.

The association Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Denmark, Belgium, and the Netherlands no longer accept tourist visa applications from Russian citizens.

Embassies of other EU countries now take “around four weeks” to process applications, the association said.

It also pointed out that Italy, Spain, France, Greece, Hungary, and Cyprus are still accepting applications for their respective national visas, although the process now takes up to two months.

The EU agreed to suspend the treaty that simplified and expedited visa issuance to Russian citizens, staring on Sept. 12. From now on, Russians will find getting EU visas is more expensive, takes longer, and requires more documents for the application.

While the bloc has refused to issue a blanket ban on visas for Russia – chiefly due to German and French objections – Poland, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania said they will “take national steps” to limit the number of Russian citizens they admit.

Другие новости

Все новости